Posted on

Swimming

It’s cold in the deep end
treading water like I mean it
like I need to stay alive
when I know I came here to die
swim cause they showed me how
not to drown on the memories that choke
me like the water that invokes my lungs
can you feel the body whispering good bye
the muscles aching in the ebony
dark and icy
you can take me
but I keep my arms moving
why?

About deadendemily

Emily lives in Austin, TX. She has a minor in chaos and a major in spray paint. She likes Vincent Price and ABBA. She enjoys being covered in fake blood and writing horror stories. Most of the time she just hopes that her cat is not plotting to murder her, her cat being a minion of Satan and all. They would never suspect the cat.

Leave a Reply

