Posted on

Showdown Against My Better Half

busted front lip
banging the mouth against porcelain
and licking wires plugged into sockets
jump start that heart rate
took a turn on me
at the last western showdown
shoot to kill
but we were a rodeo mascot
boots to burn
I’ll wise up when you
get off your high horse
I’ll buy your bullshit
when you’ve got a guarantee on the back
today we’re just beating our faces
across a bathroom stall
call it domestic brawl of hee vs. haw
when I walk out of here, two teeth less
you call my name from your respective puddle of
blood and spit
remember this could’ve been different
I could’ve been your Annie Oakley
and you might’ve been my Sundance Kid
but we’re nothing if not simple minded and selfish
bullheaded and brazen
quicksilver on the high tail of a harvest moon

About deadendemily

Emily lives in Austin, TX. She has a minor in chaos and a major in spray paint. She likes Vincent Price and ABBA. She enjoys being covered in fake blood and writing horror stories. Most of the time she just hopes that her cat is not plotting to murder her, her cat being a minion of Satan and all. They would never suspect the cat.

3 responses to “Showdown Against My Better Half

  1. An absolutely beautiful piece with excellent flow, my dear! =)

Leave a Reply

