Posted on

Purple Haze

I had a dream where he barges in and accuses me of the room smelling
like sex. His sense of smell is heightened and I know that because he
was a werewolf when I used to draw him in comics, why wouldn’t he know
the smell of sex in my bedroom? The boy I’ve been awkwardly having sex
with denies the affront. I stay shocked on the bed and look at his
face, red and and black, contempt and lilacs. He has no reason to yell
about the odor of my room, he isn’t a part of me anymore. But I’m
scared anyway. Scared he’ll rip my throat out like those kind always
do. I never get scared in dreams, unless I know I’m wrong. My little
sister was possessed and she frightened me. We were in a gypsy camp
but I couldn’t get the words right for an exorcism. I was a failure
again and the moon was burning so bright like a velvet iris. I never
saw all of this coming, you know, not even when I opened my eyes. They
kept dunking me in ice water to wake up, I must have been holding my
breath in my sleep, because I didn’t drown. I wonder if I would be
burned or hung. She kept laughing at me, the demon hunched in my
sister, and I couldn’t help but hate her instead of the thing. How
could she allow them in? Now when I needed her? And he was howling. It
would all be over soon, midnightmares, shaking thighs, the orgasm I
was having unconsciously before he burst through the door. Doors never
hold in dreams. They break like twigs. So do bones, I’ve learned. I
suspect it’s alright though, my bones breaking and all, because even
though I know they hurt, they really don’t and I just flop my arm
around like a wavy tentacle. It is all so purple. How did we turn this
color? She’s still giggling. I see they’re building it now, the pyre
with its lavender waves of heat. No one ever mentions the burning
times being violet.

About deadendemily

Emily lives in Austin, TX. She has a minor in chaos and a major in spray paint. She likes Vincent Price and ABBA. She enjoys being covered in fake blood and writing horror stories. Most of the time she just hopes that her cat is not plotting to murder her, her cat being a minion of Satan and all. They would never suspect the cat.

Leave a Reply

