Posted on

Chains

one day i woke up and they said, i dont know you. i turned my head, my eyes went from silver to blood red. my skin from pale ivory to mottled green. and i knew i was a monster. he took my hand and said love is dead beautiful. i buried it in the backyard with your future and hope. you dont mind do you? i started painting my face to match the drapes.  i told him we were as good as loch ness lovers drowning in our watery bed. scottish highlands howling alone and cursed. they put me in a cage and took out my tongue, i felt the blood run all the way down. dont look at me. but i couldnt speak and they put up a sign that said she is your worst nightmare do you dare? i tried to pull my eyes out so they bound my hands with silk handkerchiefs and iron shackles. he said do you see my new girl on the trapeze? thats what youll never be. wanting to tear him apart was not enough to bend the bars. so he just laughed and they all clapped. a voice whispered in my ear, you are too good for this, i see you. i found no body behind the words, so i cried a puddle for the mice to swim in. the midnight moonlight broke my face and i could see again. you are alive, it spoke. but when morning came they were still the same. what can words tell me that my chains cant.

About deadendemily

Emily lives in Austin, TX. She has a minor in chaos and a major in spray paint. She likes Vincent Price and ABBA. She enjoys being covered in fake blood and writing horror stories. Most of the time she just hopes that her cat is not plotting to murder her, her cat being a minion of Satan and all. They would never suspect the cat.

Leave a Reply

